Previous month:
February 2004
Next month:
April 2004

Jay Graydon: second Planet 3 album now available

Planet 3 featuring Jay Graydon second album entitled "Gems Unearthed" is now available at, more exactly at this address. You can also listen to some free audio samples at the same address.
The songs are written and recorded by the songwriting trio Jay Graydon/Clif Magness/Glen Ballard AKA Planet 3. They wrote these songs during the same period of time as the first Planet 3 album "Music From The Planet".
It is an album that indeed lives up to its title! The music style is adult contemporary pop with many strong melodies - power ballads mixed with tough 80s synth rock, in the spirit of Toto, Chicago and the like.

Jay says in the liner notes:
"The three of us were a song writing team before we became Planet 3. We wrote songs for Al Jarreau, DeBarge, films, etc. We simply had too many songs to choose from so these were most likely for a follow up album so about 15 years later, here is the follow up album! The bottom line is raw energy similar to a live real time performance!"

Published by Noted For The Record (ASCAP), Magnified Music (ASCAP) and Aerowave (ASCAP). Released on Sonic Thrust Records.

1. Jenny's Still In Love
2. Modern Girl
3. Tonight You're Mine
4. Push It In
5. Mondo Rock
6. Criminal
7. Comin' Together
8. I Don't Want To Say Goodnight
9. Make My Day
10. I Gotta Have It

Brenda Russell new album is finished


Brenda Russell's eighth studio album, "Between the Sun and the Moon", is finished and will be released by Dome Records this spring beginning with Japan on March 31. The CD will be out in the UK and select countries in continental Europe in May and in the U.S. in June.

Recorded both in London and on the West Coast, "Between the Sun and the Moon" is a typically eclectic Brenda Russell offering featuring classic ballads, soulful grooves and world music rhythms. Brenda wrote or co-wrote eleven of the twelve songs on the album and co-produced two-thirds of it. Her collaborators included Bluey of Incognito, Simon Law and Lee Hamblin of Soul II Soul fame, Victor Redwood-Sawyerr (Hil St. Soul), Patti Austin, Lee Ritenour, Stephen Bray, and Stephan Oberhoff.

Brenda called on her friends to help her. "Between the Sun and the Moon" features performances by Nathan East, Jimmy Haslip and Russell Ferrante, Hamish Stuart, Bluey, Lee Ritenour, Scott Mayo (Tower of Power), Luis Conte, and a duet with Patti Austin on the CD's title track.

Brenda will be touring Japan, Europe and the U.S. to support the release begining in May.

Claude Nougaro dies


French jazz singer Claude Nougaro dies today. He was 74. In 1987 he worked in New York with Philippe Saisse for his famous album "Nougayork". With this album he made a great comeback in France. In 1988 he went to L.A. to made "Pacifique" produced by Claude Gaudette and Michel Colombier with Jeff Porcaro, Paul Jackson, Jr. Alex Acuña, Paulinho DaCosta, Jimmy Haslip, Peter Erskine, Dann Huff, Phillip Ingram, Abraham Laboriel, Dennis Lambert, Ernie Watts, Carmen Twillie, Oren Waters & others.

He was very popular here in France. RIP.

Drummer John Guerin died


John Guerin died January 5 of complications from the flu.
He was a wonderful, generous musician, always giving of himself fully, inspiring those around him to their greatest potential. He was a wonderful husband and father, and a dear friend to many. John was truly a legend, and his music touched many thousands of people around the world. He was a beautiful spirit, full of energy, always honest, always himself. He will be sorely missed.
John Guerin was born in Hawaii but was raised in San Diego. He worked with Buddby De Franco from 1959 to 1960 and moved to L.A. in 1963. In the 60's he worked with jazz artists such as Thelonious Monk and Donald Byrd. He toured with The Byrds. From 1968 he was active in TV, film and recording studios, and in 1973 founded LA Express with Tom Scott, touring and recording with Joni Mitchell. Throughout the 1980s he was active as a producer and arranger, but returned to active jazz performance in 1989 with a new version of LA Express. His list of studio credits is amazing and undoubtedly his session career outlasted others’ because he was so musically open-minded.

He played with Frank Zappa, Frank Sinatra, Thelonious Monk, Oscar Peterson, Sonny Rollins, John Williams, The Byrds, Dave Grusin, Ben Sidran, Michael Franks, Leah Kunkel, Tom Scott, Linda Ronstadt, Kenny Rankin, Joni Mitchell, Patti LaBelle, Madonna, Bonnie Raitt, Sheena Easton, Terence Boylan, Alessi Brothers, Peggy Lee, Libby Titus, Carnie & Wendy Wilson, Stephen Bishop, Elton John, Roger McGuinn, Liza Minelli, Natalie Cole, Bobby Caldwell, Todd Rundgren, David Garfield, Ned Doheny, Joan Baez, Art Garfunkel, Randy Edelman, George Harrison, Dave Loggins, Barbra Streisand, David Gates, Larry Carlton, Seals & Crofts, Severin Browne, Gram Parsons, Sarah Vaughan, Mama Cass, England Dan & John Ford Coley, among others.

Thanks to Philippe Poudensan for the info.

James Taylor, Joe Walsh in Benefit Concerts

James Taylor is one of the artists that will participate in the 13th Annual Rainforest Foundation Benefit Concert, on April 21 at The Carnegie Hall of New York City. Other artists announced for this concert are: Sting, Elton John and actors: Melanie Griffith and Antonio Banderas.

Another benefit event is Crossroad Guitar Festival that will take place from June 4 to June 6 at Fair Park in Dallas, Texas. Eric Clapton has setted up this big Festival with an incredible bill: Joe Walsh (Eagles), Brian May, Pat Metheny, Carlos Santana, Jimmy Vaughan, ZZ Top, Joe Walsh and so on...

Michael McDonald and Doobie Brothers live DVD very soon

"Rockin' Down The Highway: The Wildlife Concert" Doobie Brothers benefit concert for the Wildlife Conservation Society (1996) DVD will be out on March 30 in The States on Legacy.
This great concert features 3 Doobie vocalists: Tom Johnston, Michael McDonald and Patrick Simmons (for the first time ever on the same stage). This DVD won't include additional content.

Melissa Manchester "When I Look Down That Road"


The new Melissa Mancester "When I Look Down That Road" is set to release 03/09/04 on Koch records. Producers are Stephen Oberhoff & Kevin DeRemer. This is her first album in 9 years since "If My Heart Had Wings" (1995).

Tracklist :
1. I'll Know You By Your Heart    
2. Angels Dancing    
3. Bend    
4. When Paris Was A Woman    
5. After All This Time    
6. Lucky Break (Melissa Manchester/Beth Nielsen Chapman)    
7. When I Look Down That Road    
8. Where The Truth Lies (Melissa Manchester/Rupert Holmes)    
9. Tyfyfim (Thank You For Your Faith In Me)    
10. Still Myself    
11. Crazy Loving You - (bonus track) (Melissa Manchester/Paul Williams)  
12. Mother's Prayer, A - (bonus track)

Personnel: Melissa Manchester (vocals, piano) ; Stephan Oberhoff (acoustic & elcetric guitars, piano, Hammond B-3 organ, synthesizer, percussion, programming) ; Peter Hume (acoustic guitar) ; Ritchie Kotzen (electric guitar, background vocals) ; Keb` Mo`(slide guitar, dobro); Doug Norwine (clarinet) ; Tollak Ollestad (harmonica, background vocals) ; Kevin DeRemer (drums, percussion) ; Tom Brechtlein (drums) ; Cassio Duarte, Bara M`Boup (percussion).

Recorded at Full Circle Productions, Woodland Hills, California; Blue Moon, Agoura Hills, California and NGS
Productions, Montecito, California.

Review of this cd soon on this website.

Send postards with great music:

If you wish to send virtual postcards with great music and short clips in Flash, please check out the virtual postcard service: and especially the Classic Rock and Adult Rock sections.
You can choose to send song clips to send from the following great artists: James Taylor, Michael McDonald, Todd Rundgren, Stevie Nicks, Steely Dan, Jon Mitchell, Carly Simon, Foreigner, Bob Seger, The Beach Boys...