Daryl Hall and John Oates Our Kind Of Soul album
Richard Marx on CBS this saturday for promoting "My Own Best Enemy" album

Tears For Fears Everybody Loves a Happy Ending new album

Tears For Fears founding members Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith, reunited after more than a decade to announce the release of "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending", their first album together since their 1989 platinum selling "The Seeds Of Love". "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" Tears For Fears new album arrives in stores on September 14 from Universal Music Enterprises.

Tears For Fears fans around the world will relish the first new songs written by Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith in some 15 years, including the title tune, along with "Closest Thing To Heaven," "Call Me Mellow," "Who Killed Tangerine?" "Killing With Kindness," "Ladybird," and "Last Days On Earth." Tracks written by Roland Orzabal include "Size Of Sorrow," "Quiet Ones," "The Devil," and "Secret World." "Who You Are" is credited to Curt Smith and Charlton Pettus (their collaborator and co-producer).

One of the most beloved British bands to emerge in the post-New Wave era of the early 1980s, Tears For Fears broke through in 1985 with the back-to-back hit singles "Everybody Wants To Rule the World" (#1 US, #2 UK), "Shout" (#1 US, #4 UK), and "Head Over Heels" (#3 US, #12 UK). The hits sent Tears For Fears's second album, SONGS FROM THE BIG CHAIR, to #1 on the Billboard 200 album chart for 5 weeks that July and August. The album went on to spend 83 weeks on the US chart (where it was certified 5-times platinum by the RIAA) and 81 weeks on the UK chart.

Tears For Fears came together in 1981, after childhood friends Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith (who grew up together in Bath, England) made their first records with the band Graduate. Tears For Fears took their name from the teachings of Arthur Janov (whose primal scream therapy greatly influenced John Lennon). They released their first singles in 1982 ("Mad World," #3 UK) and '83 ("Change," #4 UK; and "Pale Shelter," #5 UK), all from their debut album, "The Hurting".

After the success of 1985's "Songs From The Big Chair" and the debilitating world tour that followed, Tears For Fears took a long recess. They returned in 1989 with an amazing new single, "Sowing the Seeds Of Love" (#2 US, #5 UK) and the platinum album "The Seeds Of Love" (#1 UK, #8 US). The album included "Woman In Chains" which launched the career of guest vocalist Oleta Adams, who was singing at a Kansas City hotel lounge when Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith first discovered her during a Tears For Fears tour.

Curt Smith departed in 1990 to pursue solo projects, and the first of many best-selling Tears For Fears anthologies was issued that year ("Tears Roll Down"). Roland Orzabal continued with Tears For Fears, releasing "Elemental" in 1993 (essentially a solo album), and "Raoul And The Kings Of Pain" in 1995, the final Tears For Fears album until now. Solo projects from Curt Smith (1993's "Soul On Board", and 1998's "Mayfield", on his own Zero-Disc label) and Roland Orzabal (2001's "Tomcats Screaming Outside") have kept them busy until the time was right to reconvene Tears For Fears last year.

You can listen to some tunes of "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" Tears For Fears new album at Tears For Fears beautiful official website.

"Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" Tears For Fears new album tracklisting:
1. Everybody Loves a Happy Ending
2. Closest Thing to Heaven
3. Call Me Mellow
4. Size of Sorrow
5. Who Killed Tangerine?
6. Quiet Ones
7. Who You Are
8. Devil
9. Secret World
10. Killing With Kindness
11. Ladybird
12. Last Days on Earth


The latest album is absoloutely awsome! Can you tell me if they will continue to cut new albums together and if so, when the next one might be.
Look forward to seeing them in person in July @ St. Michelle in Woodinville Wa. Thanks for the music. Steve, Orcas Island, Wa.

Do you know if TFF plans a tour in France ?

The comments to this entry are closed.