Michelle Shocked: Arkansas Traveler
Phil Collins: Love Songs: A Compilation... Old & New

Don Grusin: The Hang

Sovereign Artists releases on September 14th (on Sovereign Artists) "The Hang" by renowned keyboardist Don Grusin, a live performance on CD, 5.1 Surround DVD, and 5.1 Surround DVD-A. It will also be televised in High Definition by HDNet in North America and on networks around the world. Don Grusin was joined on stage by 17 other world-class musicians, including multiple Grammy winners, that includes something for everyone, Latin, African, contemporary and straight ahead; vocals (Phil Perry, Patti Austin, Abe Laboriel, Natali Rene) and instrumentals, culminating with everyone on-stage for a full out jam.

This historic Don Grusin "The Hang" album features a who's who of the global contemporary music scene, including multiple Grammy winners, who came together to hang out and jam on two new songs and 12 new arrangements. It's the only time, ever, that this many players of this caliber have come together to perform on the same album.

As befits a gathering of this magnitude, a first-of-its-kind, direct-to-disk, 96-bit, 48-track digital recording system was used to capture the performance in 5.1 surround sound, so that those who weren't fortunate enough to witness music history being made can still hear and feel every note just as the artists intended!

Don Grusin - Piano/Fender Rhodes/Korg Triton
Dave Grusin - Piano/Fender Rhodes/Korg Triton
Lee Ritenour - Electric Guitar
Alex Acuña - Drums and Percussion
Charlie Bisharat - Electric Violin
Ernie Watts - Tenor, Alto and Soprano Sax
Frank Quintero - Vocals and Acoustic Guitar
Harvey Mason - Drums
Abraham Laboriel - Bass and Vocals
Natali Rene - Vocals
Nathan East - Bass
Nelson Rangell - Flute, Piccolo, Soprano, Tenor Sax
Oscar Seaton - Drums and Percussion
Phil Perry - Vocals
Pete Escovedo - Percussion
Patti Austin - Vocals
Ricardo Silveira - Electric Guitar
Sadao Watanabe - Alto Sax

Don Grusin "The Hang" tracklisting:
1. Let's Not Talk About It
2. Makossa Beat
3. She Could Be Mine
4. Wait for Me
5. Dama de la Ciudad (Introductory Song to el Floridita)
6. Floridita
7. Number 8
8. Woman
9. Chaser
10. Fresh Air
11. Catwalk
12. Road Town
13. Oo-Whee the Carnival
14. She Feels Good

on CD:

on DVD:


The comments to this entry are closed.