UMe Digital announces albums only available online from Rusty Anderson, Black 'N Blue, John Jorgenson and Dan Reed
Diana Krall Live At The Montreal Jazz Festival, Diana Krall DVD

Madeleine Peyroux: Careless Love


Madeleine Peyroux "Careless Love" new album. In September, Rounder Records released singer-songwriter Madeleine Peyroux's highly anticipated second album, "Careless Love". The album, produced by Larry Klein (Shawn Colvin, Joni Mitchell) and featuring Madeleine Peyroux originals as well as interpretations of songs by Bob Dylan, Elliott Smith, Leonard Cohen and others, marks a long-awaited return for Madeleine Peyroux, following an eight year hiatus.

The 12 songs found on Madeleine Peyroux "Careless Love" album features a mix of acoustic Blues, Country ballads and torch songs showcasing Madeleine Peyroux's sultry alto. Highlights include "Don't Wait Too Long" composed by Madeleine Peyroux, Larry Klein and Jesse Harris (best known for his contributions to Norah Jones' hit album "Come Away with Me") as well as Madeleine Peyroux's warm renditions of Leonard Cohen's "Dance Me to the End of Love" and Bob Dylan's "You're Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go."

Madeleine Peyroux had met Jesse Harris while touring behind "Dreamland". "We started collaborating and then lost touch for a few years. We reconnected in New York as he was about to win a Grammy and wrote that song together sitting on a bench in Central Park," she said.

In 1996, Madeleine Peyroux reached critical acclaim with the extremely successful release of her debut album, Dreamland. Time Magazine proclaimed Madeleine Peyroux as "one of a kind" while the Los Angeles Times called her vocals "polished and precise."

In 1996, Madeleine Peyroux, a 22-year-old American who had been living in Paris as a street musician, suddenly found herself on the fast track to fame. Appearances at Lilith Fair and Jazz festivals, and opening tours for Sarah McLachlan and Cesaria Evora followed, while "Dreamland"'s sales reached an impressive 200,000 copies worldwide. "It was great," recalls Peyroux. "I got to perform with fantastic musicians. I got to see Nina Simone live. I could've kept running with it, but instead I stepped back and took a breather."

Madeleine Peyroux also has a very personal relationship with French culture. On "Dreamland," she covered Edith Piaf's "La Vie en Rose." On "Careless Love," she delivers a vibrant version of "J'ai Deux Amours" ("I Have Two Loves"), a song that American expatriate singer Josephine Baker sang to Allied troops in France during the Second World War. "In many ways, Josephine Baker embodied that song because she represented an alliance between America and France during the war. It has so much symbolism and it's important to remember that in these days of strained international relations."

With "Careless Love," Madeleine Peyroux is once again proving herself to be an original interpreter and an open receptor to songs from earlier eras—an artist who channels vintage Jazz and Blues with chilling accuracy. "I feel very lucky to be part of a tradition of songwriting that stands the test of time," says Madeleine Peyroux. "I also feel lucky to be able to go back and perform as much as I did before—I can't wait." Adds Madeleine Peyroux, with characteristic modesty: "I'm very eager to know what the reaction to the record will be. We did something that felt good. I hope we touch a chord with people." With its sweet, bewitching sound, there's no doubt that "Careless Love" will do just that.

Musicians on Madeleine Peyroux "Careless Love" album:
David Piltch - bass
Larry Goldings - organ, piano, Wurlitzer and estey
Jay Bellerose - drums and percussion
Dean Parks - guitars

Madeleine Peyroux "Careless Love" album tracklisting:
1. Dance Me to the End of Love
2. Don't Wait Too Long
3. Don't Cry Baby
4. You're Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go
5. Between the Bars
6. No More
7. Lonesome Road
8. J'Ai Deux Amours
9. Weary Blues
10. I'll Look Around
11. Careless Love
12. This Is Heaven to Me

Madeleine Peyroux "Careless Love" album: ORDER IT NOW.


There was a wonderful CD that Madeleine released in 2003 called "Got You On My Mind" with the harmonica player William Galison.

Your reporter was misinformed, because Rounder Records tried to bury "Got You On My mind" to eradicate the competition.

Check out the story at

The comments to this entry are closed.