BET Awards Winners: Ciara, John Legend, Omarion, BET Awards winners
Luther Vandross is dead, Luther Vandross dies, Luther Vandross passed away

Morrison-Williams, 1100 Springs & Texas Unplugged releases on Palo Duro Records.


Shayne Morrison and Clint Williams knew they were a perfect musical match when they began collaborating six years ago after being introduced by a record shop owner in Tyler, Texas.  Back then, they channeled their efforts toward bassist Morrison’s band, Perfect Stranger; Williams eventually joined the band as its lead singer.

The pair began writing together sporadically, and submitted a song for the soundtrack to the 2004 film, The Alamo. When producers chose to use an all-instrumental score instead, Morrison and Williams decided it was time to record those tunes on their own.

The result is Morrison-Williams’ self-titled debut on Palo Duro Records. The disc of easy country rockers and soulful ballads could catapult them beyond the level of fame Perfect Stranger earned with its indie hits, the Vince Gill-penned “Ridin’ the Rodeo,” and “You Have the Right to Remain Silent,” which became the title of the band’s 1995 Curb Records release. That album reached No. 4 and stayed on Billboard’s country chart for 40-some weeks.


1/ My Girl Friday
2/ Fighting for Love
3/ Good Day to Die (The Alamo Song)
4/ Beautiful Regret
5/ Take Me As I Am
6/ Lookin' at the Sun
7/ Me Again
8/ Preacher Michael
9/ Lovin' You is Tough
10/ I Still Talk to You
11/ Wonderful
12/ Cover of the Rolling Stone


Eleven Hundred Springs is an anomaly - a hard-working band of country rockers that could easily be the modern poster boys for slacker country. The "long-haired, tattooed hippie freaks" tap into folks like Willie Nelson, Buck Owens and Doug Sahm for their influences, and their hard-core country fans pack dancehalls throughout Texas to drink in their fill of outlaw country music (and more than a few Lone Star longnecks).

Formed from the remnants of Dallas rockabilly band Lone Star Trio in 1998, EHS is made up of founding members Matt Hillyer (lead vocalist, guitar, primary songwriter) and Steve Berg (upright bass, harmony vocals), along with Aaron Wynne (pedal steel), Chris Claridy (lead guitar, harmony vocals) and former Toadies drummer Mark Reznicek. Their sound is Texas music, deeply rooted in traditional 'old school' country.

The band's latest release, "Bandwagon", is filled with new and updated songs mostly self-penned by the band itself. Hillyer continues to dominate the credits with crowd-pleasing redneck-anthems "Thunderbird Will Do Just Fine" and "Long-Haired Tattooed Hippie Freaks", but the group's writing talent doesn't stop there; "Hank Williams Wouldn't Make It" (Aaron Wynne) is quickly becoming a Texas-classic, and the outlaw-gospel "Straighter Line" (Claridy, Hillyer, Wynne) has received much critical acclaim. Clearly, these guys are much more than just another pretty face.

Coproduced by Tommy Detamore (Clay Blaker, Bill Kirchen, Doug Sahm), the CD features a rare recording of "Why You Been Gone So Long?" with the late rockabilly-legend Ronnie Dawson. Recorded during an rehearsal session in 1993, The Hillyer/Dawson duet serves a powerful tribute to the memory of "The Blonde Bomber" to whom the album is dedicated.

Eleven Hundred Springs has opened shows for Willie Nelson, Leon Russell, Dale Watson, Robert Earl Keen, The Derailers, Billy Joe Shaver, Charlie Robison, Hank WIlliams III, Supersuckers, Reverend Horton Heat and Jack Ingram.


1/ North Side Blues
2/ If I Was a Candle
3/ The Only Thing She Left Me Was the Blues
4/ Long Haired, Tattooed Hippie Freak
5/ Thunderbird Will Do Just Fine
6/ Gina from San Jose
7/ Can't Win for Losin'
8/ Hank Williams Wouldn't Make It
9/ Swerving
10/ Brand New Shoes
11/ Straighter Line
12/ Why You Been Gone So Long
13/ See You in the Next Life
14/ Rock Island Line


Texas Unplugged (tm) is the first volume in a new series to celebrate the diversity of Texas music, with one catch - everything on the album was performed using acoustical instruments - nothing electric was allowed.

Imagining simple guitars and fiddles?  Think again! With instruments ranging everywhere from Egyptian camel combs to Mexican kettle drums, these talented performers created huge sounds that are anything but your grandpa's acoustic performance.

Volume One features all-new recordings from TC Taylor, Mike McClure, Becca Dalrymple, Ed Burleson, Houston Marchman, Deryl Dodd, Sisters Morales, Terri Hendrix, Eleven Hundred Springs, Larry Joe Taylor, Brian Burns and Tommy Alverson.

Also, for country music lovers, discover Ed Burleson, Brian Burns, TC Taylor & Two Tons of Steel at Palo Duro Records.


The comments to this entry are closed.