Previous month:
October 2006
Next month:
December 2006

John Hall elected at the House of Congress


John Hall elected at the House of Congress for the Democratic Party.

Congrats to our good friend John Hall (from the band Orleans) who has just been elected at the House Of Congress (New York District 19) in The USA and won:
John Hall (Democratic challenger): 51 % (86 491 votes),
Sue Kelly (Republic incumbent): 49 % (90 019 votes).
More details at his website John Hall For Congress.

In the seventies, John Hall became active in the anti-nuclear movement, in environmental issues and co-founded Musicians United for Safe Energy (MUSE) concerts and helped to coordinate the famous "No Nukes" event at Madison Square Garden (with The Doobie Brothers, Jackson Browne, Crosby, Stills and Nash, Jame Taylor, Bruce Springsteen, Bonnie Raitt, Carly Simon, Nicolette Larson, Tom Petty...).

Since then, John Hall has continued working for alternative energy and environmental causes. His musical group at the time, the John Hall Band, released two albums, after which John Hall released a number of solo albums, the latest being the infectious and well-received Rock Me on the Water in 2005. During the 80's and 90's, Hall also wrote songs for other artists and reunited with Orleans in 1990, 1996, 2000 and 2003.

In late October 2004, John Hall publicly protested the use of the Orleans hit song, "Still the One," by the Bush presidential campaign at its campaign events. Since the Bush campaign had never received permission to use the song, it agreed not to play the song again.

John Hall is a member of the Classic Rock band Orleans. We are proud to have such a new representative at the House Of Congress. And at this present time, we also have congrats thoughts to his family: Pamela and Sofi, and music friends and partners.

(Picture: John Hall with Jackson Browne, Jackson Browne Fundraiser Weekend).

Huey Lewis's first band Clover now released on cd!


In 1971 Huey Lewis joined the Bay Area band 'Clover', and around this time he changed his name to 'Huey Louie' after two of Donald Duck's nephews (and this eventually evolved into 'Huey Lewis'). Sean Hoper joined the band in 1972 - other members of the band were John McFee, Alex Call, John Ciambotti, Mitch Howie, and Mickey Shine. Huey played harmonica with the band, and only sang lead vocals on a few tunes.

Clover recorded an album in 1975 (featuring Jeff Porcaro) at sound city studio's in LA and was never before released on cd until has sent it out screaming. John Mcfee (Southern Pacific, Doobie Brothers) has re mixed several cuts as bonus tracks, and Sonicpastmusic have also included all the original mixes and recordings.
Sure you will enjoy this great product.

Third Album for Pride of Lions

Jim Peterik and Toby Hitchock are busy putting finishing touches to the recording of the third PRIDE OF LIONS album entitled “The Roaring of Dreams”. According to Peterik, “It is a return to the more commercial and hooky sounds of the first album and actually takes much of its inspiration from the Vital Signs album by SURVIVOR. Keep in mind though that it is pure PRIDE OF LIONS and adds the drama of Toby’s voice and the counterpoint vocals of yours truly”.

“The songs are mostly shorter form and more to the point”, continues Peterik, “there are still some grand messages though: the title track is about the massive sound that we hear in our head when a dream is taking shape - even when you are working a 9 to 5 shift or even if you are an unhappy house wife- you still can hear the dream in your head. There is a song about the "The Book of Life" we are all writing- "are you just a footnote- or will you rise to fill it's pages- you were born to rock the ages- just take your pen and write the book of life"- you can shape your own destiny if you really try. Toby has a field day with the Hagaresque rocker " Heaven on Earth", inspired on the night my wife's brother Andy passed away- "I'm not gonna wait till I’m six feet under - we can find heaven on earth". There's a classic pop song called "Language of the Heart" that really rocks, there something for everyone and I am sure this will please all”.

Once again the band’s line-up in the recording features Ed Breckenfeld on drums, Klem Hayes on bass, Mike Aquino on guitar and Christian Cullen on keyboards apart from Jim Peterik (keyboards, guitar and vocals) and Toby Hitchcock on lead vocals. Frontiers Records plans to release the album in early 2007.

Frederiksen/Demander project...

Former TOTO singer Fergie Fredriksen is putting his finishing touches to the recording of the long awaited FREDRIKSEN / DENANDER project. There will be 12 songs included on the album and according to guitar player Tommy Denander “This stuff is killer!”. Frontiers hopes to receive the finished master within the end of 06 in order to schedule the release for the first half of 2007.