Orleans "Obscurities"
Jimi Jamison's "Crossroads moment"

Jim Peterik's smooth Jazz project "Lifeforce"


Jim Peterik - Grammy¨ winning singer, songwriter and guitar/keyboardist - has unveiled his first smooth jazz project, Jim Peterik's Lifeforce. As the founding member of both Survivor and The Ides Of March, he has been responsible for eighteen Top 10 hits, three of which, "Vehicle," "The Search Is Over," and the Grammy¨ winning "Eye Of the Tiger" (theme from Rocky III), made it all the way to No. 1. Peterik is also responsible for many of the hits of 38 Special, such as "Hold On Loosely," "Caught Up In You," and "Fantasy Girl." His songs have been featured worldwide in countless movies, television shows, sporting events and commercials. Who knew that behind the rock legend was a musician steeping himself almost exclusively in smooth jazz and new age in his time off? 

Peterik said, "My wife of 35 years, Karen, and I have been huge fans since day one of Pat Metheny, David Grusin, Spyro Gyra, Keiku Matsui, Acoustic Alchemy, Basia and so many more. Writing and performing this style myself is just a natural progression from fan to artist." 

Jim Peterik's Lifeforce is a potent synergy of his many influences through the years. Along with the exciting new songs he has written for this album, there are also jazzy re-imaginings of two of his biggest hits: "Eye Of The Tiger" and "Vehicle." In addition, "The Search Is Over" has been recast as a duet between Peterik and Lisa McClowry, a rising smooth jazz singer who is featured with him throughout this album. 

"My message and mood is positive and uplifting," Peterik said. "Much like the theme of 'Eye Of The Tiger,' I feel that visualization of your desired outcome is the first step to actualization. This theme, as well as making sure we appreciate each day, runs through my songs." 
The album, produced by Peterik and Larry Millas, features some of the world's finest musicians: Ed Breckenfeld on drums, Mike Aquino and Peterik on guitar, Klem Hayes on bass, Christian Cullen, Scott May, Jeff Lantz and Jim on keyboards, Steve Eisen on sax and flute and Lisa McClowry on vocals. Special guests include smooth jazz great Nick Colionne on the standout track, "Unconditional Surrender," with Larry Gray and Sharay Reed on upright bass.


The comments to this entry are closed.