Previous month:
December 2010
Next month:
February 2011

Kimball / Jamison - The Duet Album


Jimi Jamison (ex SURVIVOR singer) and Bobby Kimball (ex TOTO lead singer) are joining forces together in a duet album produced by Mat Sinner from the German Heavy Metal band Primal Fear. Jimi and Bobby are currently putting their finishing touches on the recording of the lead vocals in Los Angeles, while the musical tracks have been recorded in Germany.

The songs on the album, which promises to be one of the highlights of 2011 in the Melodic Rock scene, have been selected from several songwriters including Richard Page (Mr Mister), Randy Goodrum (Toto, Steve Perry), Robert Sall (Work of Art), John Waite and more melodic rock luminaries. The release is currently pencilled for spring 2011. More details to be announced shortly.

Richie McDonald "Slow Down"


Richie McDonald founded the Country Rock band Lonestar in 1992 and recorded several albums before leaving the band in 2007 to pursue a solo carreer. After a fantastic debut "I Turn to You", Richie released his second album "Slowdown" On December 1, 2010 through his website and digital retailers. the album features 12 new tracks including the single "How Do I Just Stop".

Mike Porcaro "Brotherly Love"


Regarding Mike Porcaro is going to release a live record called Brotherly Love featuring the "Tribute to Jeff" concert in Koblenz 2002. Here's a message and more information from him:

"I just wanted to let you know that I am releasing a Live record I made with David Garfield and an All Star cast featuring Steve Gadd, Gregg Bissonette, Lenny Castro, Glenn Hughes, my brother Steve, and father Joe and many other great cats. We recorded it live in Koblenz, Germany back in 2002 and it's finally finished. It's coming out in Japan first on Ward Records, but will be released shortly after that in the US and the rest of the world. We'll be posting more complete information soon. I hope you get a chance to check it out and enjoy! I want to thank everybody for the kind thoughts and prayers. I'm doing the best that I can....... Love, Mike."

Tracklist: DISC 1: 1. Rosanna 2. Manic Depression 3. Georgy Porgy 4. Lowdown 5. E Minor Shuffle 6. English Eyes 7. Human Nature 8. Straight No Chaser 9. Africa 10. Let's Stay Together DISC 2: 1. Stuffy 2. Jeff's Strut 3. Babylon Sisters 4. Big Bone 5. Corbitt Van Brauer

Pekka "PJ" Rautiainen "Secret Isle"


Pekka "PJ" Rautiainen has just released his debut solo album, Secret Isle. As the name sounds, he is from Finland. After releasing two albums with House Of Mirrors on Escape Music he deside to go solo. HOM was a truly typical Scandi AOR sounding band with lots of heavy keyboards and melodic choruses. After leaving HOM he has been working on his solo album with producer Tuomo Vähä-Pesola and offers a wonderful Westcoast / AOR album with pop influences in the style of Urban Tale, Heart Play, Crossfade and some Toto influences. This album will surprise many who listens to Westcoast because PJ has delivered a strong album in a true Westcoast stylet.

On this album he has been helped out by some of the best musicians in Finland as Havana Black drummer Anssi Nykänen. The record opens with Secret Isle that´s a wonderful WC/AOR song with beautiful melodies and a strong chorus. "Falling For You" reminiscent of Chicago mixed with Toto. "On Every Time When It Rains" has great dut-dut keyboards in it and a strong AOR-chorus. "This Burden" is an awesome mid-tempo AOR-song that makes me think of Mark Spiro in his best moments. There are some songs that does not achieve the same quality as those above but the ones I have mentioned are top-notch WC. This is a tip for the fans of Westcoast and which has a little bit of light AOR influences. Strong debut album.