Tony Saunders "Apaloosa"
Sweet Confort Band "The Waiting Is Over"

Mr Mister's "Welcome to the real world" & "Go On" re-released with Bonus tracks by Rock Candy!!


ALTHOUGH MR MISTER achieved colossal commercial success there has always been a vast under appreciation of their musical worth. Unfairly viewed by many as a faceless mid 80’s pop rock band, they eventually scored two worldwide hit singles, their sound showcasing technical ability far beyond the level of musical proficiency normally expected. Indeed, there is an argument that elevates Mr Mister into that rarefied breed of highly respected AOR acts such as Toto, Chicago and Steely Dan. Based in Los Angeles, the band was originally formed by Steve George and Richard Page (later adding über drummer Pat Mastelotto and guitarist Steve Farris). Page and George initially recorded unsuccessfully as Pages before changing members and switching their name to Mr Mister, they were then signed to RCA Records by Paul Atkinson, a former member of revered British psychedelic outfit the Zombies.

‘Welcome To The Real World’, was the band’s second album and saw them facing a make or break situation. Fortunately it was a happy ending, with the album producing two #1 hit singles, in ‘Broken Wings’ and ‘Kyrie’, and going on to sell in excess of two million copies. Co-produced by former Yes soundman Paul De Villiers, the album showcases a collection of highly polished tracks, fusing lyrics, melody and showmanship into one glorious clutch of tracks that actually owe as much to progressive rock as they do to catchy pop.

Special Deluxe Collector’s Edition, fully remastered sound, Six Bonus Tracks, 16 page full colour booklet, new interviews, 3,500 word essay, enhanced artwork and rare photos. TRACK LISTING: 1. Black/White 2. Uniform Of Youth 3. Don't Slow Down 4. Run To Her 5. Into My Own Hands 6. Is It Love 7. Kyrie 8. Broken Wings 9. Tangent Tears 10. Welcome To The Real World BONUS TRACKS: 11. Kyrie’ (Extended Version) 12. Broken Wings (Live) 13. Uniform Of Youth (Live) 14. Is It Love' (Dance Mix) 15. Is It Love (Dub Mix) 16. Broken Wings (Extended Version)



WHEN MR MISTER’S ‘Welcome To The Real World’ album eventually became a huge international seller, producing two massive hit singles in ‘Kyrie’ and ‘Broken Wings’, the music business hailed them as all conquering heroes destined to take their place in the rock ‘n’ roll hall of fame. So much attention was focussed on this their follow-up album, the meticulously crafted ‘Go On...’, with many eyes and ears confidently predicting another massive success story.

Sadly, however, that was not to be. ‘Go On...’ suffered at the hands of a record company corporate reshuffle, one that saw it change hands and clean out its long time staff. RCA had been sold to German media group BMG who set in motion a restructuring of the company, a place where Mr Mister’s new music was not appreciated. It was a disappointing state of affairs as the band had poured their heart and soul into crafting an album that, in many respects, displayed a far more confident and courageous sound.... but one that BMG were not sold on. Utilising producer Kevin Killen, who had previously crafted records by U2 and Peter Gabriel, ‘Go On...’ elevates the band to another creative level. The sound is perfectly pristine, boasting a brace of superb songs (including the all time great ‘Stand And Deliver’) wrapped up in a progressive pop sheen that, even to this day, makes it entirely unfathomable as to why the record label failed to see its potential.

Special Deluxe Collector’s Edition, fully remastered sound, Four Bonus Tracks, 16 page full colour booklet, new interviews, 3,500 word essay, enhanced artwork and rare photos. TRACK LISTING: 1. Stand And Deliver 2. Healing Waters 3. Dust 4. Something Real (Inside Me / Inside You) 5. The Tube 6. Control 7. Watching The World 8. Power Over Me 9. Man Of A Thousand Dances 10. The Border. BONUS TRACKS: 11. Healing Waters (Remix) 12. Bare My Soul (B-Side) 13. Something Real (Inside Me/Inside You) (Rock Dance Mix) 14. Stand And Deliver (Remix)


Availables at Rock Candy Records.


The comments to this entry are closed.